Nestled neatly in the center of Kanuga is a historic treasure dear to everyone who visits. The Chapel of the Transfiguration has hosted services, welcomed wedding parties, and stood witness to hours of silent prayer since its dedication in 1942.
A Milestone Filled with Memories
This summer, we celebrate the chapel’s 75th anniversary and look ahead to the future preservation of this beautiful structure.
“The Chapel of the Transfiguration is more than a simple building for Kanuga,” says Kanuga President Michael R. Sullivan. “It is the spiritual home for all of our guests who have found renewal of their mind, body, and faith at Kanuga.”
During our summer guest period, the chapel will be honored during regular services so that all will have the opportunity to be a part of this significant milestone.
Preserving Beautiful Craftsmanship
The chapel stands as a testament to the devotion of the founding Board. Work began on the structure in 1938. Scottish born S. Grant Alexander, who lived in nearby Asheville and reconstructed Fletcher’s Calvary Episcopal Church, was employed to design the structure.
The chapel was built from pine logs felled on the property. Unfortunately, the pine wood was too soft and the structure required metal support rods. Almost 20 year later, additional steel channel supports were added under the eaves and through the transepts to prevent further movement.
As we look ahead to the future, we are researching methods to preserve our dear chapel. Currently, we are working with a nationally respected church renovation architect and historic preservation contractors. Our goal is to keep the chapel just as it is so the next generation can continue to find peace in the heart of Kanuga.