Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 2824 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 2812 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 2827 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 2826 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 2828 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kaitlin Pope Mountain Trail Outdoor School Assistant Director kaitlin.pope@kanuga.org 2838 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Expedition Programs Manager kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 2837 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Matt Henry Chief Operating Officer matt.henry@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 2819 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Directions to Kanuga

Kanuga is located just south of Historic Downtown Hendersonville in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina, easily accessible whether you’re driving or flying.

There are three campuses at Kanuga: the main Conference and Retreat Center, Camp Kanuga (traditional summer camp) and the Bob Campbell Youth Campus (home of Mountain Trail Outdoor School and Camp Bob).

If you have any questions regarding directions to Kanuga, email info@kanuga.org or call 828-692-9136.

GPS Address:
Kanuga Conferences, Inc.
130 Kanuga Chapel Drive
Hendersonville, NC 28739

If driving...

Kanuga is easily accessible via Interstates 26, 40 and 85 as well as via US Highway 25. If this is your first visit to Kanuga and you will not be using a GPS we recommend using these directions.

Interstate 26 East (From Asheville and I-40)

  • Take exit 49-B on US-64 W/Four Seasons Blvd into Hendersonville. Continue for 2.3 miles.
  • Turn left on N. Church Street (South Business 25) and drive nine blocks.
  • Turn right on Kanuga Street (becomes Kanuga Road) and following for 3.75 miles.
  • Turn right on Kanuga Lake Road.
  • Proceed to the Conference and Retreat CenterCamp Kanuga or the Bob Campbell Youth Campus (Mountain Trail Outdoor School/Camp Bob)

Interstate 26 West (From South Carolina and I-85)

  • Take exit 53 Upward Road toward Hendersonville
  • Turn left on Upward Road, continue 2.5 miles. You will cross over US-176/Spartanburg Hwy (intersection with large Ingles Grocery) onto Highland Lake Road and proceed until the road ends.
  • Driving a bus? Please avoid Little River Road and take this alternate route.
  • Turn left on NC-225 South (Greenville Hwy) towards Historic Flat Rock.
  • At the traffic light (just past the Flat Rock Playhouse), turn right on Little River Road and continue for roughly 4 miles until the road ends at a blinking red light.
  • Turn right on Crab Creek Road/Kanuga Road.
  • Take first left onto Kanuga Lake Road (watch for the brown road sign).
  • Proceed to the Conference and Retreat CenterCamp Kanuga or the Bob Campbell Youth Campus (Mountain Trail Outdoor School/Camp Bob)

 

If flying...

Asheville, NC (AVL – 30 min.)

Asheville Regional Airport, located thirty minutes from Kanuga, offers service on Allegiant, US Airways, Delta and United, with daily nonstop service to Charlotte, Atlanta, Chicago, New York, Orlando and other major hubs. Taxi services and major rental car companies are available at the airport terminal. When exiting Asheville Regional Airport take a left onto Airport Road and follow the signs for I-26 East toward Hendersonville. Following directions for Interstate 26 East

Greenville-Spartanburg, SC (GSP – 1 hr.)

Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, located one hour from Kanuga, offers service on Allegiant, American Airlines, Delta, Southwest, United and US Airways. Taxi services and major rental car companies are available at the airport terminal. When exiting Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport follow signs for I-85 N. Continue for 14 miles and take exit 70 to merge onto I-26 West towards Asheville, NC. Following directions for Interstate 26 West

Charlotte, NC (CLT – 1 hr and 45 min.)

Charlotte Douglas International Airport, located one hour and 45 minutes from Kanuga is the largest airport in the region. If flights into Asheville or Greenville-Spartanburg are unavailable we recommend Charlotte as an alternative. When exiting Charlotte Douglas International Airport follow signs for I-85 South towards Gastonia/Spartanburg. You may choose to follow I-85 all the way to I-26 West. Alternatively you can take exit 10b to merge onto US-74 W towards Kings Mountain/Shelby for 56 miles. US-74 merges with I-26 near Columbus, NC. Follow directions for Interstate 26 West

 

Once you arrive at Kanuga…

To Conference and Retreat Center: Download a campus map now 

  • Follow Kanuga Lake Road for approximately 1.25 miles.
  • Turn right on Kanuga Chapel Drive, at the large Kanuga sign.
  • Continue past the tennis courts to the first paved parking lot on the left (approximately 1/2 mile). You will see the historic Chapel of the Transfiguration just before this turn.
  • The front desk is located in the Kanuga Lake Inn Lobby, just to the left of the Shop at Kanuga.

To Camp Kanuga: Download a campus map now 

  • From Kanuga Road, follow Kanuga Lake Road for approximately one mile to Camp Kanuga Circle and turn right.
  • Continue to the end of the gravel road and turn left. The office is on the left.

To Bob Campbell Youth Campus: Download a campus map now 

  • From Kanuga Road, follow Kanuga Lake Road for approximately 1.25 miles.
  • Turn right on Kanuga Chapel Drive, at the large Kanuga sign.
  • Continue on the main road through the conference center (past the tennis courts and Historic Cottages) for approximately 3/4 mile.
  • Main road will turn into gravel at the Bob Campbell Youth Campus. Continue on gravel road, to the right of the entrance sign, to parking area near the Brian Wood Center (youth programs administration office).

 

More information...

Alternate Route for Buses (to avoid Little River Road)

  • Buses may want to avoid Little River Rd. To do so, from Upward Road turn right on Spartanburg Highway (North Business 25/West 176). A landmark for this intersection is the large Ingles supermarket.
  • Drive 2.2 miles until the road ends and turn left on NC-225 South (Greenville Highway). A landmark for this intersection is a Fresh Market grocery store in front of you and a Walgreens on your left.
  • Take an immediate right onto White Street, continue until you dead end into Kanuga Street.
  • Take a left onto Kanuga Street; continue 3.5 miles and watch for brown Kanuga Conferences sign. Turn right onto Kanuga Lake Road, then continue with directions above for your Kanuga destination: Conference and Retreat Center, Camp Kanuga or Camp Bob/Mountain Trail Outdoor School.


Reaching Kanuga by Bus: Greyhound offers service to Asheville, N.C., their closest stop to Hendersonville. The bus station is located at 2 Tunnel Road (about 32 miles from Kanuga) and is open 8 a.m.-9 p.m. seven days a week, except holidays. Taxi services and rental car information is available at the station.

Reaching Kanuga by Taxi: Several taxi cab services operate at the Asheville Regional Airport and in Hendersonville. View a list of transportation options here.