Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
30
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
1
2

Youth Week at Kanuga

June 19, 2016 - June 24, 2016

One of Kanuga’s oldest traditions, Youth Week brings together youth and adults who work with youth from around the country for a week of fun, friendship and prayer. Through small group discussions, full conference gatherings, music, prayer and play, youth are encouraged to explore their thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community.

Three different, simultaneous tracks offer youth and adults the chance to spend time with similar-aged participants.

SYP: Senior Young People

For students rising in grades 10-12 and recent high school graduates.

You Have My Word

In the beginning we were spoken into being and named “very good” by God. Since then human lives have been captured in stories passed down from generation to generation. We are the culmination of thousands of millions of stories that are incorporated into our own expanding story. This year at SYP we are going to look at how these words and stories shape our lives. In the stories of scripture we have the gift of seeing how the Word of God has interacted with humanity.

The word is very near to you, it is in your mouth and in your heart for you to observe

–Deuteronomy 30:14

Through our week together, we will look at the stories we have been told, the stories we tell to others, the stories we tell to ourselves, and the stories we want to tell in the future. Your story is still being written. The words you use to write the stories you’ll live are of your own choosing – so what will you say?

Conference Staff

COORDINATOR: Ashley Eastham, originally of Waterford, MI, first attended youth week as a junior in high school, in the summer of 2000. She hasn't missed one since! She now resides in New Orleans, LA with her husband Evan (whom she met while staffing Winterlight in 2005). She worked in child welfare and juvenile justice from 2005-2010, completing her Masters in Clinical Psychology in 2008. She now acts as the executive assistant to the rector and program coordinator for Young Adult and Young Families ministries at Trinity Church - New Orleans.

COORDINATOR: Richmond Jones is a priest at St. Francis Episcopal Church and a Campus Missioner in Macon, Ga. He lives there with his wife, Perry Jones, and their two cats. They both received Masters from the Sewanee School of Theology. Richmond enjoys the outdoors, reading, collecting records, cooking food that is better than the restaurants, and sharing funny things with his friends. He has been coming to youth week since 2003 and is incredibly thankful for the gifts Kanuga has brought to his life.

 

Want to be on SYP staff? Apply here. Applications are due by February 26, 2016.

 

Interested in being a Torchbearer? Apply here. Torchbearers are full staff members and given the same level of responsibility and standing as all other staff. However, participation in this program allows for more support and guidance while making the transition from participant to first year staff. Torchbearers are assigned staff mentors, and gather in their own "small group" during non-programmed time with two veteran staff members. They are paired with veteran staff members in cabins and as small group facilitators. The cost per person for the torchbearer program is $242, covering your room and board for the duration of the conference.

 

JYP: Junior Young People

For students rising in grades 7-9.

Love Your Neighbor

In our world today, love is more important than ever. God calls us as Christians to love our neighbors as ourselves. But who is our neighbor exactly? Neighbors live just next door but also far away. Neighbors are people just like you, and nothing like you. Neighbors are both friends and strangers. Neighbors are Christians and people of other faiths. Join us at JYP 2016 as we explore what it means to love as Christ taught us through His teachings and parables. See you soon, neighbor.

Conference Staff

COORDINATOR: Katherine Fockler lives in Nashville, TN where she works as Brand Manager at an advertising agency, The Buntin Group. In her hometown of Memphis, TN, Katherine was active in the youth activities of the Diocese of West Tennessee, particularly Happening. Before her first year at the University of Richmond, Katherine spent her first week at Kanuga on JYP staff and has continued to serve on staff over the past ten years! This is her third and final year as JYP Coordinator.

COORDINATOR: Spencer Monroe lives in Charlotte, NC and serves as a personal home builder for True Homes. Spencer was an active member of his youth group at St. Martin's Episcopal Church in Charlotte and has spent his entire life in the church. His father is a church organist and choir director, and his mother is a retired youth minister serving at several parishes. Before his freshman year at Clemson University, Spencer joined JYP staff and this will be his seventh year serving at JYP, his second year as JYP Coordinator.

Want to be on JYP staff? Apply here. Applications are due by February 26, 2016.

 

 

AWWWY: Adults Who Work With Youth

For anyone who is connected with teenagers in the church, including youth ministers, Sunday School teachers, confirmation mentors, clergy or laity. Enjoy a week of education, rest and networking with volunteer and professional youth leaders from across the country. AWWWY is one of the longest-running Episcopal youth ministry events in the United States. In fact, Kanuga's very first conference in 1928 evolved into what we know today as Youth Week.

More information coming soon!

 

 

COST - JYP & SYP

Double Occupancy $485 per person $410 through April 19
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Torchbearer $242 per person
Covers your lodging and meals.

 

 

 

COST - AWWWY

Double Occupancy $509 per person $434 through April 19
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $675 per person $600 through April 19
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child (Ages 3-11)

$330 per person $255 through April 19
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due May 24
(To register after this date, please submit full amount.)

 

 

 

 

 

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Sunday, June 19
Check-out 10 a.m. Friday, June 24

 

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register Now
Financial Assistance Download a printable application - PDF