Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 218 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Matt Henry Chief Operating Officer matt.henry@kanuga.org 214 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
30
31
1

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

CONFERENCE FULL

Lea esta página en Español.

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer practical tools and a network of support to better equip for ministry those working within the Latino/Hispanic community and those who want to be.

Clergy, diocesan missioners, parish staff, church planters and lay leaders are invited to engage as a community, focusing on God 's mission and celebrating culture, diversity and the unique sense of Fiesta ( joy) fostered  in the Latino/ Hispanic community.  

Participants will take home a deeper understanding of God 's mission in the context of Latino/ Hispanic congregations and strategies and ideas for practical implementation at the local and diocesan level. 

Simultaneous interpretation available throughout the conference.

View the conference schedule here.

What to Expect

  • To learn ways to become involved in Latino ministry even if you don't speak Spanish
  • To meet others with your interest and begin a network
  • To learn from others and share what you know
  • Encouragement for developing and sustaining Latino ministry in your own parish
  • Discussion groups on topics that may arise, such as the impact of legislation, community relations and local issues

About the Keynoters

Pastor Pedro Suárez was born and raised in Venezuela, South America. He attended Seminario Evangélico Asociado in Maracay (1979), Venezuela and Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (1992). He has served St. Mary’s Hope Lutheran Church in Chicago , St. Francis Lutheran Church in Aurora, IL, St. Andrew’s Lutheran in West Chicago and Bethel Lutheran Church in Madison, WI. He developed several Latino ministries at most of these settings. Pedro has also served on synod staff at the South Central Synod of Wisconsin as Assitant to the Bishop and Mission Director, and now is Assistant to the Bishop and Director for Evangelical Mission in the Texas-Louisiana Gulf Coast Synod of the ELCA.

Pastor Suárez is fluent in English and Spanish. He is a musician, a liturgist, is passionate about evangelism, mission development, lay formation, and brings gifts as a bicultural leader. Pastor Suarez and his wife Aura have two adult children, Rafael and Melinda.  He has served in many ELCA national teams including the Libro de Liturgia y Cántico steering committee, the ongoing Latino Strategy, the Latino Lay Academy, Latino Stewardship team, the Development Team, Redil (the Latino ecumenical network) and as a preacher for the ELCA Churchwide Assembly in 2013.

The Rt. Rev. Diane M. Jardine Bruce was elected seventh bishop suffragan of the Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles on December 4, 2009, after having served 10 years as rector of St. Clement’s by-the-Sea Church in San Clemente, California. The first woman to be elected bishop in diocesan history, she was ordained to the episcopate on May 15, 2010.

Bishop Bruce’s areas of specialization include multicultural ministries, stewardship, and oversight of the congregations in the southern third of the Diocese. She became rector of the San Clemente parish in 2000. She was previously associate rector of the Church of the Messiah, Santa Ana, California. Prior to ordination she served Wells Fargo Bank as vice president, compensation management and analysis. She was employed by Wells Fargo (formerly Crocker Bank) in various capacities since 1980.

Ordained a priest in 1998 in the Diocese of Los Angeles, Bishop Bruce speaks Spanish, Mandarin and Cantonese as well as English. She holds a doctoral degree from Seabury-Western Seminary (awarded in May 2011) as well as a master of divinity degree from the Claremont School of Theology and a bachelor's degree in linguistics from the University of California at Berkeley. A native of Pequannock, New Jersey, Bishop Bruce is married to G. Stephen (Steve) Bruce, a computer software engineer. The Bruces have two adult children -- a son, Max, and a daughter, Jardine.

Workshop Topics

  • Five Breads, Two Fish: Creative Ways to Fund Hispanic Ministry

  • EpiscoLutheran 101: Understanding the Distinctives of Our Anglican|Lutheran Traditions

  • Discipleship: The Challenge of Servant Leadership, Living Into Our Baptismal Faith

  • Spanglish: Unity in Diversity: How to Integrate and Cultivate Diverse Communities.

  • Good Soil for Planting: Starting and Sustaining Hispanic Ministry

  • Multimedia Gospel: Using Technology to Share Resources & Promote Hispanic Ministry

  • TGIF: Thank God Its Fiesta! Why Latino Worship is a Party with Jesus.

  • Zumba for the soul: Nontraditional Ways to Welcome the Festive Latino Spirit Into the Church

  • Social Justice Round Table: Bringing Down Walls, Building New Bridges

Click here to download a complete list of workshops and descriptions - PDF

 

COST

Double Occupancy $200 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $300 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Commuter $100 per person
Includes program, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child/Youth
(age 4-18)
$100 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

PAYMENT

Deposit $50 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due July 25
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Monday, Aug. 25
Check-out After breakfast Thursday, Aug. 28

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now! CONFERENCE FULL
Financial assistance Download application.
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF

.