Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jennifer Sharpe Retail Manager jennifer.sharpe@kanuga.org 2802 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Director of Marketing and Communications leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 
+
Stephanie Watts Manager of Event and Guest Services stephanie.watts@kanuga.org 2830 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1

NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

August 29, 2016 - September 1, 2016

About the Conference

Auspiciado con la colaboración de la oficina de la Iglesia Episcopal/Ministerio Latino y la Oficina de Ministerios Latinos de la Iglesia Luterana en América (ELCA). Este evento bi-anual ofrecerá herramientas prácticas para fortalecer y equipar aquellos que trabajan en el ministerio y la comunidad Latina/Hispana y a aquellos que desean incursionar en este ministerio. Con el entendimiento que nos vamos a juntar para celebrar, conocernos, compartir nuestros recursos, promover el conocimiento de la estructuras de nuestras respectivas iglesias, cual nos va permitir también fortalecernos.

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer practical tools and a network of support to better equip for ministry those working within the Latino/Hispanic community and those who want to be. With the understanding that we will gather to celebrate, get to know each other, share our resources, further the understanding of the structures of our respective churches, which will also allow us to strengthen our bond.

Simultaneous interpretation available throughout the conference.

Workshops (in English and en español)

Directions (en español)

Lodging (en español)

Comparte tu historia Project (in English and en español)

Schedule (in English)
Schedule (en español)

Register now / Inscripción ahora

What to Expect

  • To learn ways to become involved in Latino ministry even if you don't speak Spanish
  • To meet others with your interest and begin a network
  • To learn from others and share what you know
  • Encouragement for developing and sustaining Latino ministry in your own parish
  • Discussion groups on topics that may arise, such as the impact of legislation, community relations and local issues

Keynoters

The Rev. Ruben Duran serves as Director for New Congregations in the Congregational and Synodical Mission unit of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.  He is responsible for promoting the development of Synodical mission strategies, local initiatives and emerging models for the multiplication of new communities of faith in the USA and the Caribbean.

Ruben is a native of Lima, Peru, South America. He served parishes in the Seattle, Washington and Los Angeles, California areas prior to becoming Associate to the Bishop and Mission Director for the Metropolitan Chicago Synod, ELCA.  He has also served as Associate Director for Latino Outreach in the former Division for Congregational Ministries, ELCA and Executive for Congregational Outreach Services in the former Division for Outreach, ELCA prior to his current position.

Ruben is a graduate of Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary in Berkeley, California; Trinity Lutheran College (formerly the Lutheran Bible Institute) in Seattle, Washington and the Escuela Nacional de Turismo in Lima, Peru.

Ruben and his spouse, The Rev. Jean M. Duran, have three daughters: Rebecca (29), Sara (26) and Anna (23).

 

The Rev. Altagracia Pérez-Bullard serves as the Canon for Congregational Vitality in the Episcopal Diocese of New York.  Through church leadership development, both lay and clergy, she assists congregations as they seek to engage and collaborate with their changing contexts to bring new life to their communities in the name of Jesus Christ and by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Canon Pérez-Bullard has served in the Church for 30 years as a community leader, youth minister and priest in the Dioceses of New York, Chicago and Los Angeles.  As the rector in Los Angeles of St. Philip’s, LA and Holy Faith, Inglewood, she lead multicultural, bilingual congregations engaged in serving and ministering to the wider community. She also served as Dean and Director of the Episcopal Urban Intern Program.

Altagracia has brought leadership to the issues of HIV/AIDS, youth violence, worker justice and living wage, health disparities in communities of color, housing and community empowerment.  In each of these areas she has sought to build bridges and create alliances between communities across lines of difference, whether they be characterized by race, ethnicity, class, gender, sexuality, or physical and mental abilities.  She worked with Clergy and Laity United for Economic Justice (CLUE), Jubilee Consortium, Coalition L.A., UNITE-HERE, Housing Authority for the City of Los Angeles, and President Clinton’s Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS.  In the Church, she has served as a deputy to the General Convention, on the Program, Budget and Finance Committee, as CREDO faculty, as well as on Diocesan Standing Committee, and other Diocesan Commissions.

Canon Perez-Bullard holds a PhD in Practical Theology from Claremont School of Theology, CA, and an M.Div. and STM from Union Theological Seminary, New York and B.S. in Educational Psychology from New York University. She and her wife Cynthia Bullard-Perez enjoy the blessings and challenges that are their children Veronica, Immanuel, Joshua and Jasmine.

Coordinators: Wendy Pineda and Jaime Dubon

Chaplains: Miguelina Howell & Cesar Arroyo

Details and Registration

COST

Double Occupancy $215 per person $194 if registered by May 28
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $320 per person $288 if registered by May 28
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Commuter $115 per person $104 if registered by May 28
Includes program, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Youth
(ages 10-18)
$125 per person $113 if registered by May 28
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child (ages 3-9) $100 per person $90 if registered by May 28
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Infant/Toddler (under age 3)

FREE
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

There is a $100 infant/toddler fee for those who participate in Kanuga's optional nursery care during plenary sessions and workshops. Register for nursery care upon arrival; this fee will be added to your final invoice.

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due July 29
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Monday, Aug. 29
Check-out 10 a.m. Thursday, September 1

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now / Inscripción ahora
Financial assistance Download application.

.