Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 218 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Matt Henry Chief Operating Officer matt.henry@kanuga.org 214 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
30
31
1

NATIONAL EPISCOPAL PREACHING CONFERENCE — Recasting the Sermon: What Language Shall We Borrow?

April 23, 2012 - April 26, 2012

How is a sermon heard in our day? How might our sermons receive a better hearing?

What is the place of social media, technology and innovation in the contemporary proclamation as we tell the old, old story of Jesus and his love?

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Preaching Foundation, the third annual National Episcopal Preaching Conference will inspire clergy and seminarians to improve their preaching by exploring emerging patterns of proclamation.

All participants will share in a mix of worship, lecture and discussion. Workshops will be offered on technology, social media, collaborative preaching and improvisation.

An emphasis also will be put on small preaching groups, led by faculty of the Foundation's annual Preaching Excellence Program, where sermons will be reviewed and critiqued.

“Everyone will bring a sermon to preach in their small group of 10 or so preachers,” said the Rev. Dr. William Brosend, conference coordinator. “The feedback will help their future preaching, as will the chance to hear our keynote speakers and other colleagues.”

Conference speakers will share what drives their preaching and how they stay inspired to make their messages reach a constantly evolving audience.

About the speakers

Shane HippsShane Hipps is the teaching pastor at Mars Hill Bible Church, founded by Love Wins author Rob Bell in Grand Rapids, Mich. Formerly an advertising strategist for Porsche, he changed careers to pursue a long-held interest in spirituality and theology, earning a master of divinity degree at Fuller Theological Seminary. After graduating, he became the lead pastor of a vibrant Mennonite church in Phoenix. He is the author of two books, The Hidden Power of Electronic Culture: How Media Shapes Faith, the Gospel and Church and Flickering Pixels: How Technology Shapes Your Faith.

Tony Jones is an author, theologian, social commentator, blogger and sought-after speaker and consultant in the areas of emerging church, postmodernism and Christian spirituality. He is a theologian-in-residence at Solomon's Porch in Minneapolis and an adjunct professor at Fuller Theological Seminary and Andover Newton Theological School. His books include The Church Is Flat: The Relational Ecclesiology of the Emerging Church Movement, The New Christians: Dispatches from the Emergent Frontier and The Sacred Way: Spiritual Practices for Everyday Life. He co-owns a social media consulting and event planning company.

Lauren WinnerDr. Lauren Winner is the author of Girl Meets God, Mudhouse Sabbath and the forthcoming Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis. She has appeared on PBS's Religion & Ethics Newsweekly and has written for The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post Book World, Publishers Weekly, Books and Culture and Christianity Today. She has degrees from Duke, Columbia and Cambridge universities. The former book editor for Beliefnet.com, she currently serves as an assistant professor of Christian spirituality at Duke Divinity School in Durham, N.C.

Conference Staff

Scott BordenWilliam BrosendCOORDINATOR: The Rev. Dr. William Brosend directs the Episcopal Preaching Foundation and is an associate professor of homiletics and director of the advanced degrees program at the University of the South's School of Theology in Sewanee, Tenn. His latest book is The Preaching of Jesus: Gospel Proclamation, Then and Now.

CHAPLAIN: Br. Scott Borden is the prior of Holy Cross Monastery, a Benedictine community in West Park, N.Y. He entered the Order of the Holy Cross in 2001 and was life professed in 2005. Previously he worked in the public radio system, including positions at WKYU Bowling Green, West Virginia Public Radio and WNYC New York. A spiritual director and retreat leader, he frequently leads programs at the monastery and other locations.

Theodicy Jazz CollectiveMUSICIANS: Theodicy Jazz Collective is a group of musicians committed to ministry through the creative, spiritual power of music. Their unique sound is influenced by the spirituals and gospel music of the African-American church, as well as progressive jazz and world music. For three years, they led the Sunday morning jazz service at Trinity Cathedral in Cleveland, Ohio, which became the highest pledging service during their leadership. They have also played at the National Council of Churches, the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, St. Paul's Chapel in New York, Oberlin College and 15 churches in six states. Theodicy currently leads the weekly jazz service at the Episcopal Church of St. Paul and St. James in New Haven, Conn.

COST

Double Occupancy $320 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $435 per person
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $255 per person
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities. (For residents of Henderson, Transylvania, Polk, Rutherford, Buncombe, Haywood or Greenville counties only)

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due March 23
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Monday, April 23
Check-out After breakfast Thursday, April 26

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF
Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF