Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
27
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
28
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
29
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
30
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
31
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
1
2

Kanuga Photography Retreat

April 21, 2013 - April 26, 2013

Kanuga Photography Retreat studentIn its eleventh year, this retreat emphasizes a mental and spiritual connection with photography.

Take a break from the rapid pace of life and enjoy photography in a more thoughtful way!

From beginners to professionals, photographers at all levels of experience will learn new ways of approaching their art.

Pick one instructor to study with for the entire week. Class size is limited to allow for individual instruction.

Morning and evening programs are planned for conference-wide participation, allowing you to learn from other instructors.

NEW! This Year

Each day will start with a morning panel from 9-10 a.m. This is an opportunity to talk with all of the photography instructors, see their work and get answers to your burning questions before class start at 10 a.m.

Expand your knowledge with evening "mini-classes." Instructors will offer up to three classes to choose from, and topics will include Photoshop, social media, sizing photos and night photography.

Schedule a private 30-minute review of your work with Beth Reynolds. Whether you are working on a personal project or desiring direction for your work, every photographer benefits from having images reviewed in a constructive critique. Reviews are personal and private and will provide you with real insight through fresh eyes. You may sign up for a photography review at check-in. Be sure to bring prints, digital files or have work posted online.

Workshops

  • Natural Light Portraits - Instructor: Jon Kral
    Old Man by Jon KralPhotography is all about light and composition. Portrait photography is that and more. In the first part of this course, we will increase our knowledge of how to read light and how to judge good light from bad. We will look at times of day when light is more kind to us and how to shoot during the times of day that are less than desirable. We will learn to use the manual controls on our cameras to assure proper exposure and experiment with hand-held light meters, light reflectors and different lens sizes. We will break down the basics of composition so that we can achieve natural-looking portraits. We will become aware of backgrounds, foregrounds and how think of what we see through the viewfinder as two-dimensional. We will look at what constitutes proper posing for a subject to appear relaxed and candid. In addition to understanding the environment and posture for composition, we will sharpen our use of the tools necessary for better composition: lens size, best aperture, shutter speeds and light. Much of the class will be spent taking our tools and putting them into action. We will shoot lots of portraits: friends, strangers and animals. We will critique and tweak our work together and just have a lot of fun.
  • Lady Slippers by Robin SmithThe Art of Seeing - Instructor: Robin Smith
    For novice and intermediate photographers using a digital camera, this class will develop the ability to see an image that is a wonderful opportunity for a photograph. We will work to get the most out of your camera, whether it is a point-and-shoot or SLR. Woven throughout our time together will be a common sense approach to the technical tools needed to make a good photograph. The class structure will be flexible enough to address the specific needs of each student. Relax and grow in skill as well as your understanding of how to see photographic possibilities using all five of our senses that are necessary for a good photograph.

What to Bring

  • A camera, of course! (preferably one that allows you to manually adjust the shutter speed and aperture; point-and-shoot cameras and SLRs are equally welcome)
  • Camera instruction manual
  • Spare batteries and memory cards
  • A tripod (optional)
  • A laptop computer with some version of Photoshop software (optional)

About the staff

Jon Kral

INSTRUCTOR: Jon Kral of Boone, N.C., is a widely recognized photojournalist whose evocative images have received the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Award, as well as five Pulitzer Prize nominations. He was a Pulitzer-prize finalist and a group winner. After 32 years as a newspaper photographer, including 17 years at the The Miami Herald, he recently retired to focus on his freelance career. His extensive documentary portfolio includes projects on Florida’s cowboy culture, Latin American prisons, youth gangs in the South and Mississippi steamboats.

Robin SmithINSTRUCTOR: Robin Smith  has owned PhotoVision, a photographic studio in Columbia, S.C., for more than 35 years. His work focuses on freelance photography, video production and fine art photographs for retail art galleries. He has exhibited in a variety of galleries in the Southeast and is represented in more than 10 galleries and shops in the Carolinas and Georgia. His photography is featured in several books including Camden, Homes and Heritage; Robert Milla, Architect; G.W. Vanderbilt's Biltmore Estate; and In This Place, an award-winning coffee table book about Kanuga.

Thom BurdenBeth ReynoldsCOORDINATORS: Beth Reynolds and Thom Burden are the directors of Base Camp Photo, a socially responsive, educational company based in Greenfield, Mass., that concentrates on using photography as a lifestyle improvement mechanism for all people. A photojournalist and photography instructor for more than 20 years, Reynolds is the creator of several award-winning documentary projects. Her work is in the collection of the Ringling Museum of Art, Woodstock Center for Photography, MD Anderson Cancer Center and many private collections. An avid outdoorsman, Burden was the director of operations for the Hallmark Institute of Photography for eight years before beginning a new career in the renewable energy field as a planner and specifier in the Western Massachussetts area working for a local oil company to bring them into compliance with state and federal standards.

Janet Tarbox

CHAPLAIN: The Rev. Janet Tarbox of Edgefield, S.C., is an Episcopal priest who served more than 15 years in parish ministry before her retirement in 2008. An avid photographer, she has participated in the Kanuga Photography Retreat for five years.

 

COST

Double Occupancy $985 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $1160 per person
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $775 per person
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities. (For residents of Henderson, Transylvania, Polk, Rutherford, Buncombe, Haywood or Greenville counties only)
Nonparticipating
Spouse
$690 per person
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due March 21
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Sunday, April 21
Check-out After breakfast Friday, April 26

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download printable registration form - PDF
Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF