Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
20
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
21
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
22
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
23
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
24
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
25
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
26
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 4

Summer Guest Period: Week 4

When: July 19, 2014 - July 26, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
27
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
28
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
29
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
30
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
31
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
1
2

Kanuga Knitting & Quilting Retreat

January 16, 2014 - January 19, 2014

Optional January 20 Stayover

Extend your retreat for an extra day! Limited classes will be offered in addition to a buffet supper Jan. 19 and a continental breakfast before checkout Jan. 20.

"KKQ has been so formative in my life, teaching me many new knitting skills, introducing me to remarkable women (and a few men!), and shaping in me a deep joy for chaplaincy, spiritual direction, and retreat ministry.  That the event is on the holiest ground I know, and I get to share it with my mom, is icing on the already wonderful cake!"  -The Reverend Jennifer Deaton

Learn new techniques from patient experts and exercise your creativity during this relaxing mountain weekendProjects will be offered for beginning to advanced knitters and beginning to intermediate quilters.

Knitters and quilters will choose one project to work on during this three-day retreat. Knitting projects include a contiguous sweater, felted “pop squares” tote, beginning socks, lace and beads scarf, Christmas stockings, Fair Isle mitts or bring your own project to work on. Click here to see detailed descriptions of each project.

Quilters can choose to make a Dottie Zig-Zag, Jelly Roll Jambalaya, and/or Seed Pods. Quilters also are welcome to bring their own quilting project. Click here to see detailed descriptions of each project.

In addition to daily classes, there will be get-togethers by the fire and time for hiking to scenic mountain overlooks and visiting area yarn and quilting shops. The atmosphere is casual. The people are warm and friendly.  The experience is a gentle escape from “real life.”

Download the Knitting and Quilting Retreat flyer

About the staff

Varian BrandonCOORDINATOR: Varian Brandon has been knitting since she was 8 and has been almost continuously working with yarn and needles since a trip to Scotland after college. An international award winning designer, she is currently creating patterns for various yarn companies and knitting magazines both in this country and in Europe as well as for her own website. She lives in Saluda, NC.

Jennifer DeatonCHAPLAIN: The Rev. Jennifer Deaton serves as the Canon for Pastoral Care at St. Andrew's Episcopal Cathedral in Jackson, MS. An avid knitter, she maintains the blog Preach One, Purl Two.

Jean Ann Wright and Janet Houts

QUILTING INSTRUCTOR: Jean Ann Wright is a design consultant to the fabric industry and co-author of Circle of Nine: 24 Stunning and Creative Quilts, One Unique Quilt Setting. Previously, she served as editor of The Quilting Quarterly and Quilt magazines. Her quilts have appeared on the covers of The Quilter and Quilter's World and featured in Fons and Porter, McCalls and Quilter's Newsletter magazines. She has taught quilting in the United States, Canada and England and was a judge at the first International Quilt Festival in Austria and the Quilt Festival in Houston.

QUILTING INSTRUCTOR: Janet Houts is a quilt designer and co-author of Circle of Nine: 24 Stunning and Creative Quilts, One Unique Quilt Setting. Her quilts have been published in numerous magazines, including Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting, McCalls Quick Quilts, Quilter’s World and Quilt Magazine. She has designed quilts for several textile companies, including Blank Textiles, Windham Fabrics and Andover Textiles. She has an extensive background in graphic arts and previously was the editorial art director for The Quilting Quarterly.

 

 

COST

Double Occupancy $490 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $600 per person
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $320 per person
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities. 
Nonparticipating
Spouse
$330 per person
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Optional Stayover $70 per person
Includes lodging, buffet supper and continental breakfast.

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due December 16
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 1-4 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 16
Check-out After lunch Sunday, Jan. 19

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF
Financial Assistance Download a printable application - PDF