Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jennifer Sharpe Retail Manager jennifer.sharpe@kanuga.org 2802 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Director of Marketing and Communications leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 
+
Stephanie Watts Manager of Event and Guest Services stephanie.watts@kanuga.org 2830 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1

Kanuga Knitting & Quilting Retreat

January 12, 2017 - January 15, 2017

 

About the retreat

Learn new techniques from patient experts as you enjoy the perfect weekend escape for knitters and quilters. Experience the casual, friendly atmosphere in the Blue Ridge Mountains that only Kanuga can offer.

Knitters and quilters can choose a project to work on during this three-day retreat. Projects will be offered for beginning to advanced knitters and beginning to intermediate quilters. You are also welcome to bring your own project to work on. In addition to daily classes, there will be get-togethers by the fire, time for hiking to scenic mountain overlooks, and visiting area yarn and quilting shops.

About the projects

Knitting projects include: Fingering Weight Asymmetrical Lace Mitts; Socks 102; Modular Knitting; Embroidery, Edgings and Embellishment for Knitting; Fingering Weight Asymmetrical Stranded Hat or bring your own project.  View knitting project details (PDF)

Quilting projects include: Award-winning designer Jean Ann Wright will offer a mystery quilt using 5" charm squares as well as a half-day session on free motion quilting. A VIP afternoon program with a visiting nationally known award-winning teacher will also be offered.  View quilting project details (PDF)

About the staff

Varian BrandonCOORDINATOR: Varian BrandonThrough the years, I have been surrounded by incredibly talented women. Among them, my great grandmother, my grandmother, my mother and a wonderful woman who taught me to knit when I was eight.

As the spark of creating grew, I explored classes, read books and tried various techniques with yarn and needles. In spite of this dabbling across the knitting spectrum, I always seem to come back to Fair Isle and Aran designs, due in part to my first trip to Shetland and the Outer Hebrides where I took classes with both Alice Starmore and Kaffe Fassette.
Now, after an undergraduate degree in architecture, a graduate degree in communication and several years working in those two disciplines, I am able to put yarn, color and design together full time. My world is filled with colorful yarn and charting software. 

 

Jennifer DeatonCHAPLAIN: The Rev. Jennifer Deaton graduated from Emory University in 1994 with a B.A. in Religion, and from the University of Mississippi in 1998 with an M.Ed. in Educational Psychology.  She earned her M.Div. from the General Theological Seminary in 2004.  She served as Curate at St. Paul’s in Meridian, and as Chaplain at St. Andrew’s Episcopal School in Jackson prior to coming to the Cathedral.  Jennifer has completed a two-year training in the practice of spiritual direction.  She currently serves as Program Chair for the Center for Formation and Mission at Gray Center, and as Chaplain for the diocesan Episcopal Church Women.  Jennifer lives in Jackson with her husband and son, two cats and a dog, and lots of yarn and knitting needles.

 

Details & Registration

COST

Double Occupancy $585 per person. $527 if registered by Oct. 12, 2016
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $725 per person. $653 if registered by Oct. 12, 2016
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $330 per person. $297 if registered by Oct. 12, 2016
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities.
Non-participating spouse $390 per person.$351 if registered by Oct. 12, 2016
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Early arrival $80 per person for arrival on Jan. 11, 2017
 
Stayover $80 per person for stay over night of Jan. 15, 2017
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due December 12
(To register after this date, please send check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

 

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT TIMES*

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Thursday, January 12
Check-out After lunch Sunday, January 15
* Early arrival check-in: 4-6 p.m., Wednesday, January 11
* Stayover check-out: 10 am on Monday, January 16

 

 

 

REGISTRATION AND DISCOUNTS

Register Now

Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF