Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6

Kanuga Knitting & Quilting Retreat

January 15, 2015 - January 18, 2015

Optional January 19 stayover

About the retreat

Learn new techniques from patient experts as you enjoy the perfect weekend escape for knitters and quilters. Experience the casual, friendly atmosphere in the Blue Ridge Mountains that only Kanuga can offer.

Knitters and quilters can choose a project to work on during this three-day retreat. Projects will be offered for beginning to advanced knitters and beginning to intermediate quilters. You are also welcome to bring your own project to work on.

In addition to daily classes, there will be get-togethers by the fire, time for hiking to scenic mountain overlooks, and visiting area yarn and quilting shops.

Knitting projects include Dreambird Shawl, Leftovers Wrap, Knitted Toys, Beginning Socks, Fixing Mistakes, Steeking Basics and more. Click here for a full list of knitting projects.

Quilting projects include Log Cabin Cross and Asian Fusion wall hangings, Jelly Roll Race and Carousel quilts. Click here for a full list of quilting projects.

About the staff

Varian BrandonCOORDINATOR: Varian Brandon has been knitting since she was 8 and has been almost continuously working with yarn and needles since a trip to Scotland after college. Recently, she was the top American winner in an international design competition sponsored by Jamieson and Smith Woolbrokers. She lives in Saluda, NC where she uses her needles (and graph paper and computer) to design hand-knitted sweaters and other colorful wearables.

Jennifer DeatonCHAPLAIN: The Rev. Jennifer Deaton serves as the Canon Pastor at St. Andrew's Episcopal Cathedral in Jackson, Mississippi. An avid knitter, she maintains the blog Preach One, Purl Two.

Jean Ann Wright and Janet Houts

QUILTING INSTRUCTOR: Jean Ann Wright is a design consultant to the fabric industry and co-author of Circle of Nine: 24 Stunning and Creative Quilts, One Unique Quilt Setting. Previously, she served as editor of The Quilting Quarterly and Quilt magazines. Her quilts have appeared on the covers of The Quilter and Quilter's World and featured in Fons and Porter, McCalls and Quilter's Newsletter magazines. She has taught quilting in the United States, Canada and England and was a judge at the first International Quilt Festival in Austria and the Quilt Festival in Houston.

QUILTING INSTRUCTOR: Janet Houts is a quilt designer and co-author of Circle of Nine: 24 Stunning and Creative Quilts, One Unique Quilt Setting. Her quilts have been published in numerous magazines, including Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting, McCalls Quick Quilts, Quilter’s World and Quilt Magazine. She has designed quilts for several textile companies, including Blank Textiles, Windham Fabrics and Andover Textiles. She has an extensive background in graphic arts and previously was the editorial art director for The Quilting Quarterly.

 

 

COST

Double Occupancy $550 per person $495 early bird rate (expires October 15)
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $680 per person $612 early bird rate (expires October 15)
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $320 per person $288 early bird rate (expires October 15)
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities. 
Nonparticipating
Spouse
$385 per person $347 early bird rate (expires October 15)
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Optional Stayover

$75 per person
Includes lodging, buffet supper and continental breakfast.

Extend your retreat for an extra day! Limited classes will be offered in addition to a buffet supper Jan. 18 and a continental breakfast before checkout Jan. 19.

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due December 15
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 1-4 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 15
Check-out After lunch Sunday, Jan. 18

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF
Financial Assistance Download a printable application - PDF