Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
30
Renewal Conference
Renewal Conference

Renewal Conference

When: June 26, 2016 - July 1, 2016

This summer, spend five days relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; learning about God’s plan for your life, enjoying great worship, connecting with friends, encountering Christ in a...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
1
2

Church Leadership Conference

February 19, 2016 - February 21, 2016

Presented by Kanuga and the Episcopal Church Foundation.

2016 Theme: Be Still and Grow

In many ways, the institutional church has adapted to the secular world. There are business plans and growth charts and the work of church leadership seems to be the bottom line. It is easy to lose sight of the one reason the church exists: to worship God. What would it look like if there were a renewed focus on prayer and liturgy? What could the Church become if leadership were more concerned with spiritual well-being than physical or financial? Join us as we explore how churches can refocus their energies and deepen the faith of their membership.

Keynoters: The Rev. Barbara Cawthorne Crafton, is the founder of the online ministry, The Geranium Farm, and now lives in New Jersey; and The Very Rev. Dr. Neal Michell, Dean and Rector at St. Matthew’s Cathedral in Dallas, Texas

Coordinator: Brendon Hunter from the Episcopal Church Foundation, New York, NY

Click here to view the flyer.

Click here to view the schedule.

Click here to view the workshop descriptions.

About the Church Leadership Conference

The Church Leadership Conference brings together vestries and other church leaders for learning, reflection, and formation. It’s a time and space for vestries to ask the big questions facing their congregations, featuring outstanding speakers and workshop leaders presenting ideas and resources, not only to inspire, but also for practical tools in ministry. This conference offers a retreat format designed to help vestries come together and discern what God is calling them to do in their mission and ministry.
 

Keynote Speakers

The Rev. Barbara Cawthorne Crafton

The Rev. Barbara Cawthorne Crafton is an Episcopal priest and author. She heads The Geranium Farm, an institute for the promotion of spiritual growth. The Farm publishes her Almost-Daily eMo, a meditation read online by tens of thousands worldwide via email and social media. She has served a number of churches, including historic Trinity Church, Wall Street, St. John's-in-the-Village in Greenwich Village, St. Clement's in Manhattan's theatre district and St. James, the American church in Florence, Italy. She was a maritime chaplain on the New York waterfront, and served as a chaplain at Ground Zero after the attack on the World Trade Center. A spiritual director, Crafton leads retreats and teaches throughout the United States and abroad.

The Very Rev. Dr. Neal Michell

The Very Rev. Dr. Neal Michell has been Dean of St. Matthew’s Cathedral since March 2013. He graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in History; JD from the University of Houston Law Center; MDiv from The School of Theology; University of the South (Sewanee); and a Doctor of Ministry degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. Dean Michell has written two books on congregational development, numerous articles, and led workshops and conferences in over 30 dioceses as well as overseas.

Conference staff

Brendon HunterCOORDINATOR: Brendon Hunter is Associate Program Director for Leadership Resources at the Episcopal Church Foundation (ECF), focusing on ECF Vital Practices and the Fellowship Partners Program. He also coordinates all of ECF’s events and partnerships, which includes ECF’s in-person presentations and workshops and online webinars. Brendon is a graduate of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and brings a passion for spiritual practices and creative approaches to strategic thinking. He came to ECF having most recently served as Director of Administration for a congregation in the Diocese of Chicago as well as years of work with diocesan convention and communications, young adult ministries, and campus ministries.

The Rev. Alan AkridgeCHAPLAIN: The Rev. Alan Akridge is a co-director of the Epiphany Institute + Consulting in Hickory, N.C., developed to address congregational development issues not in isolation, but as part of a comprehensive landscape. He is a practitioner and interpreter of the New Apostolic Era, did postgraduate studies at Wake Forest Divinity School and is currently the rector of St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in Brunswick, GA.

Details & Registration

COST

Double Occupancy $310 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $385 per person
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $150 per person
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities.
Non-participating spouse $215 per person
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due January 19
(To register after this date, please pay full amount)

 

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Friday, February 19
Check-out After lunch Sunday, February 21

 

 

 

REGISTRATION AND DISCOUNTS

Register Now
Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF

Team Discount

Kanuga is pleased to offer a special discount to groups such as churches, vestries and organizations in an effort to help make the Kanuga experience accessible. 

Please enter promo code KS16TD to receive a 15% discount per registrant when you register six or more group participants for this conference at least 30 days before the conference begins.

Click here to learn more