Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
26
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6

2014 Christian Formation Conference

June 9, 2014 - June 13, 2014

OPTIONAL EARLY ARRIVAL ON JUNE 8

The largest event of its kind in the Episcopal Church, the Christian Formation Conference is four days of learning, fellowship, refreshment and renewal with some of the Church’s top educators. The 86th Christian Formation Conference at Kanuga welcomes one of the most influential Biblical scholars of our time, Walter Brueggemann. Church educators find a friend in Brueggemann, an ordained minister in the United Church of Christ. His work inspires, energizes and convicts, and he always makes time to interact personally with those to whom he speaks. Brueggemann is the author of over 100 books and numerous articles and maintains an active speaking calendar. This conference will also feature workshops, worship, and time to learn and share with some of the church’s top educators. Coordinator: Stacy Holley, Winston-Salem, NC.

WHAT YOU'LL GAIN:

  • Practical, take-home resources for leading faith formation programs for all ages
  • Tools for building a unique curriculum that truly fits your parish
  • Workshops on a wide variety of topics
  • Networking, support and encouragement from some of the Church's best Christian educators
  • Time to nourish your own spiritual development with respite, renewal and play

As with all Kanuga summer conferences, you can make this week a mountain vacation for the whole family. While parents attend sessions, young people participate in their own programs directed by our carefully selected staff in a safe and fun Christian environment. Programs for young people will begin at 3 p.m. on Monday, June 9.

Spouses can fish, hike, play tennis or nearby golf, relax on the porch or by the lake and visit area attractions. The whole family can spend time together in the afternoons and evenings.

DOWNLOAD THE EVENT FLYER HERE

DOWNLOAD A TENTATIVE SCHEDULE

 

About Walter Brueggemann:

Walter BrueggemannWalter Brueggemann is surely one of the most influential Bible interpreters of our time. He is the author of more than one hundred books and numerous scholarly articles. He continues to be a highly sought-after speaker.

Brueggemann was born in Tilden, Nebraska in 1933. He often speaks of the influence of his father, a German Evangelical pastor. Brueggemann attended Elmhurst College, graduating in 1955 with an A.B. He went on to Eden Theological Seminary, earning a B.D. (equivalent to today’s M.Div.) in 1958. He completed his formal theological education at Union Theological Seminary in 1961, earning the Th.D. under the primary guidance of James Muilenburg. While teaching at Eden, he earned a Ph.D. in education at St. Louis University.

Brueggemann has served as faculty at two institutions in his career: Eden Theological Seminary (1961-1986) and Columbia Theological Seminary (1986-2003). He is currently William Marcellus McPheeters professor emeritus of Old Testament at Columbia.

Brueggemann’s primary method with the text is rhetorical criticism. Words matter to Brueggemann, and one can tell that by listening to him speak as he hangs on to particularly theologically significant words. His magnum opus, Theology of the Old Testament (1997), is a rhetorical-critical look at the Old Testament through the lenses of “testimony, dispute, and advocacy.”

Many have come to know Brueggemann through his book entitled The Prophetic Imagination, originally published in 1978. His best-known work, however, may be with the Psalms. Numerous church leaders have used his Message of the Psalms as a new way of organizing and processing the Psalms. He has been writing about the Psalms since 1982, and he continues to this day with a commentary due in August 2013.

Church leaders find a friend in Brueggemann, an ordained minister in the United Church of Christ. His work inspires, energizes, and convicts, and he always makes time to interact personally with those to whom he speaks at large events.

He is a longtime St. Louis Cardinals/Browns fan. He and his wife Tia currently reside in Cincinnati, Ohio.

 

Workshop and discussion topics will include:

  • Creating "Out of the Box" Camp and Recreation Experiences
  • Using Godly Play With Adults
  • Creative Ideas For Children's Formation
  • The Christian Formation Leader As Community Organizer
  • The Prophetic Power of Shaker Music and Spirituality
  • Effective Confrontation
  • The DISC Behavioral Profile As A Resource for Deeper Listening
  • Bible Stories We Don't Know (And How To Teach Them)
  • Marketing Your Church or Ministry
  • Curriculum Design
  • Using Social Media Effectively
  • Much more...

"The Artists' Colony" is back by popular demand. Open throughout the week, the cluster of cozy buildings in Minkler Grove is transformed into a space where adults enjoy workshops using a variety of media, and unscheduled "studio time" to drop in, unplug, hang out, and create. Offerings include:

  • Creating Miniature Gardens
  • Using Cooking Techniques In Teaching
  • Spirituality Center (Mixed Media)
  • Exploring The Face (With A Professional Sketch Artist)
  • Cloudgazing/Stargazing As Spiritual Practice

 

Conference Staff:       

COORDINATOR: Stacy Holley lives, plays and works in Winston-Salem, NC. After 20+ years serving parishes as a Christian educator, she now works as the Executive Assistant to the Senior Minister at Centenary United Methodist Church in Winston-Salem and leads conferences and training events with churches around the country.

 

 

MUSICIAN: Martha Bassett will provide the soundtrack to this year’s conference. Bassett has logged several decades of experience in writing and performing music, scholarship, teaching, and leading in worship -- most recently as music leader in a weekly worship service that is built entirely around themes found in secular songs.  Classically trained, Martha is blessed with a crystalline tone. Her performances are known for their emotional honesty and visceral impact, making everyone in the room feel she’s singing directly to them. Regularly seen on stages at Merlefest, the Eastern Music Festival, Shakori Hills Grassroots Festival and concert venues throughout North Carolina and Virginia, she’s opened for Lyle Lovett, Tony Bennett, the Avett Brothers, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Jim Lauderdale, and Chuck Prophet. Visit her website here.

 

 

Registration & Fees:

COST

Double Occupancy $520 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $665 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities. (Based on availability)
Commuter $400 per person
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities.
Nonparticipating
Spouse
$355 per person
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child (age 4-9) $150 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Youth (age 10-18) $240 per person
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Optional Early Arrival: June 8

$70 per adult
$35 per child or youth

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due May 9
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

START/END TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Sunday, June 8 (Optional Early Arrival)
Noon-2 p.m. Monday, June 9 (Christian Formation Conference)
Check-out After lunch Friday, June 13

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION

Register Online Register Now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF
Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF
Team Rebate Download a printable team rebate form - PDF

 

 

Register Now!