Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jennifer Sharpe Retail Manager jennifer.sharpe@kanuga.org 2802 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Director of Marketing and Communications leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 
+
Stephanie Watts Manager of Event and Guest Services stephanie.watts@kanuga.org 2830 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1

2017 Christian Formation Conference

June 12, 2017 - June 16, 2017

Faith formation for all God’s people in an era of change   

Every day we experience the reality that we are living, not only in an era of change, but in a change of eras. We need a new vision of forming faith—an ecosystem of intergenerational relationships and faith experiences at church, family faith at home and missional formation to the unaffiliated. All of which is supported by digitally enabled and digitally connected faith formation to reach anyone, anywhere, anytime. 

About the Conference

 The Christian Formation Conference has been a Kanuga staple since 1928. Each year, clergy, professional educators and countless volunteers come together to share the best formation practices, be inspired by great speakers and be rekindled for ministry.

Flyer and workshop descriptions to come.

 

Keynote Speaker

John Roberto is president of LifelongFaith Associates and serves as a consultant to churches and national organizations, teaches courses and conducts workshops on faith formation. He has authored numerous books and program manuals on faith formation, including his latest, Families at the Center of Faith Formation (editor and co-author, 2016) and Seasons of Adult Faith Formation (editor and co-author, 2015).

Conference Staff

Chaplain

TBA

Musician 

Vicky Tavernier has been a church musician since her legs were long enough to reach the organ pedals. She’s directed adult and children's choirs. She even led a praise and worship band for a while—yes, in an Episcopal church. She loves it all. Guitars, tone chimes, boom whackers, ukuleles, band instruments: All seem to find a way to express joie de vivre in a service. One of Vicky’s favorite church music memories is that of playing a nose harp on stage at adult Vacation Bible School with two other fun, crazy people. Intuition directs her choices.  Zeal fuels her passion. Vicky always asks God what She wants to hear at a service when choosing hymns. She’s open-minded and works best in a team environment. The more people get a chance to give their gifts, the better.

Coordinator

Kathy Graham is the coordinator for Lifelong Christian Formation in the Diocese of Alabama and a former director of Christian Formation in two parishes. With a master’s degree in early childhood education, Kathy began her career in formation when the thinking was that being a mother and a teacher was all that was needed. She quickly learned otherwise, and through Kanuga and NAECED (now FORMA) conferences, she learned skills vital to her ministry. She began attending the Kanuga conference when her youngest was in the first grade; he is now a rising college junior. She also has a 24- and 22-year-old.

 

Details & Registration

COST

Double Occupancy $610 per person $549 if registered by February 12
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $770 per person $693 if registered by February 12
Includes same as above. (Based on availability)
Commuter $350 per person $315 if registered by February 12
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities.
Non-participating spouse $430 per person $387 if registered by February 12
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Youth (ages 10-18) $300 per person $270 if registered by February 12
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child (ages 3-9) $200 per person $180 if registered by February 12
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Infant/Toddler (Under age 3)

FREE
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

There is a $105 infant/toddler fee for those who participate in Kanuga's optional nursery program during plenary sessions and workshops. Register for nursery care upon arrival; this fee will be added to your final invoice.

Early arrival on June 11 $80 per person
Includes loding, meals and use of recreational facilities.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due May 11
(To register after this date, please pay full amount)

 

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT TIMES

Check-in 4-6 p.m. Monday, June 12
Check-out After breakfast Friday, June 16

 

 

 

REGISTRATION AND DISCOUNTS*

Registration Coming Soon
Financial Assistance Download a printable application - PDF
Team Discount

Kanuga is pleased to offer a special team discount to groups such as churches, vestries, diocese, and organizations in effort to help make the Kanuga experience accessible. Register your team together and make the $100.00 deposit for each person. Kanuga will apply a 15% discount per person to the balance due once the necessary six or more participants have been registered at the same time, later additions will not be eligible for the discount. In addition, if group size falls below 6 participants the discount is retracted.

Please note that this offer expires 30 days prior to the conference start date.