Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4

2015 Christian Formation Conference

June 8, 2015 - June 12, 2015

Optional early arrival: June 7

How do you make your parish a safe haven when disaster strikes? How do you prepare yourself for the psychological impacts on your parish? How do you lead your parish to forgive? How do you teach forgiveness in a society focused on retaliation?

Listen as keynoter Lyndon Harris shares his inspiring story of being thrust into the center of tragedy on Sept. 11, 2001, while serving as a priest at St. Paul’s Chapel in New York City, just beside the World Trade Center.

Plus, take part in more than 40 workshops with topics as diverse as creating an emergency preparedness manual, learning to live in the now, and how to use outreach with children and youth as a tool for healing after tragedy strikes. Workshops will also cover such basics as creating amazing VBS programs and tools needed for the novice Christian education director.

The Rt. Rev. James B. Magness, bishop suffragan for the Armed Forces and Federal Ministries, will serve as chaplain. He has much to share about faith's role in a world worn thin by war and violence.

North Carolina musician Martha Bassett will offer musical balm for the soul and will lead a workshop on how music can do just that.

Click here to register.

ABOUT LYNDON HARRIS

Lyndon Harris was born in Gaffney, SC, and graduated from Wofford College in 1993. He received his Master of Divinity degree from Sewanee: The University of the South and was ordained to the priesthood at Church of the Advent in Spartanburg, SC. He left for New York to do further study at General Seminary and was hired to be the priest-in-charge of St. Paul’s Chapel. He was there on Sept. 11, 2001, and, on Sept. 12, oversaw the beginnings of one of the most profound relief efforts in recent history. St. Paul’s became the center for food, massages and concerts for the hundreds of first responders and construction crews that descended on Wall Street during the following months. Currently, Lyndon serves as the executive director of Gardens of Forgiveness and teaches extensively on the healing power of forgiveness. 

ABOUT THE STAFF

Chaplain

The Rt. Rev. James B. Magness: In March 2010, the House of Bishops of The Episcopal Church elected James B. Magness to be the VI Bishop Suffragan for the Armed Forces and Federal Ministries. He was consecrated in June at the Washington National Cathedral. His responsibility is for Episcopal chaplains and their congregations in the Department of Defense, the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Federal Bureau of Prisons. In January 2012, Bishop Magness was seated by the presiding bishop as canon for Federal Ministries of Washington National Cathedral. He was recently appointed as the vice-chair of the Anglican Standing Committee for International Peace with Justice Concerns, and has served the Presiding Bishop as her representative for a number of international ecumenical engagements to include the Church of England, the Philippines, South Sudan, and Israel and Palestine. 

Musician

Martha Bassett will provide the soundtrack to this year’s conference. Bassett has logged several decades of experience in writing and performing music, scholarship, teaching, and leading in worship -- most recently as music leader in a weekly worship service that is built entirely around themes found in secular songs.  Classically trained, Martha is blessed with a crystalline tone. Her performances are known for their emotional honesty and visceral impact, making everyone in the room feel she’s singing directly to them. Regularly seen on stages at Merlefest, the Eastern Music Festival, Shakori Hills Grassroots Festival and concert venues throughout North Carolina and Virginia, she’s opened for Lyle Lovett, Tony Bennett, the Avett Brothers, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Jim Lauderdale, and Chuck Prophet. Visit her website here.
 

Coordinator

Debbi Rodahaffer of Louisville, KY. A member of the St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church family for 28 years, she has served on the church staff as the director of Christian education for 19 years. Through her work, Debbi has done everything from finding the very best church school teachers and caregiver staffs to serving as president of the National Association for Episcopal Christian Education Directors when NAECED was transitioning to Forma. Debbi serves on the Province IV Christian Formation Steering Committee, the Diocese of Kentucky’s Commission on Ministry, and is privileged to be the lead coordinator for Kanuga’s 87th Christian Formation Conference. Debbi and her husband Richard can often be found in music venues watching their adult children perform.

Bring the whole family

As with all Kanuga summer conferences, you can make this week a mountain vacation for the whole family. While parents attend sessions, young people participate in their own programs directed by our carefully selected staff in a safe and fun Christian environment. Programs for young people will begin at 3 p.m. on Monday, June 8. There is a $100 fee for childcare and youth programs.

Spouses can fish, hike, play tennis or nearby golf, relax on the porch or by the lake and visit area attractions. The whole family can spend time together in the afternoons and evenings.

COST

Double Occupancy $575 per person $518 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes program, lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Single Occupancy $720 per person $648 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes program, private room lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities. (Based on availability)
Commuter $325 per person $293 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes program, lunches, suppers and use of recreational facilities. Excludes breakfasts and lodging.
Non-participating guest $400 per person $360 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Youth (ages 10-18) $275 per person $248 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Child (ages 3-9) $175 per person $158 early bird rate (Expires February 8)
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.
Infant/Toddler (Under age 3)

FREE
Includes lodging, meals and use of recreational facilities.

There is a $100 infant/toddler fee for those who participate in Kanuga's optional nursery program during plenary sessions and workshops. Register for nursery care upon arrival; this fee will be added to your final invoice.

Early arrival on June 7 $75 per person

 

 

 

 

 

PAYMENT DETAILS

Deposit $100 per person
Nonrefundable. Nontransferable. Deposit deducted from total fee.
Balance Due May 8
(To register after this date, please send a check or use a credit card for the full amount.)

 

 

 

 

CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT

Check-in 2-5 p.m. Monday, June 8
Check-out After breakfast on Friday, June 12

 

 

 

 

REGISTRATION

Register Online Register now!
Register by Mail/Fax Download a printable registration form - PDF
Financial Aid Download a printable application - PDF
Team rebate Download a printable team rebate form - PDF

 

 

 

 

 

Register Now!