Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 218 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
2014 Lansing Lee Conference
2014 Lansing Lee Conference

2014 Lansing Lee Conference

When: October 26, 2014 - October 28, 2014

KEYNOTER: Dr. Eben Alexander, author of Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
30
31
1

Conference Calendar

OPEN CALENDAR

 

2014 CONFERENCE/RETREAT NAME
October 26-28

LANSING LEE CONFERENCE

The 2014 Lansing Lee Conference welcomes Dr. Eben Alexander, the neurosurgeon whose near-death experience has intrigued millions as he shared new understanding of life, heaven and the divine. This three-day conference will explore the ways God reaches across time and space to meet us, and how this connection shapes and transforms our lives. Celebrate the transcendent power of God's love with powerful story, great worship and creative experiences in the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

November 16-22

ICON WRITING with Teresa Harrison

Teresa Harrison and Sandra Hjelm will return again for the 12th annual Icon Writing Retreat. Icon writing is an ancient painting technique in which the process and the finished work inspire prayerful meditation. The joy of creating an icon in community is to experience and share the love of God.

December 4-7

ENNEAGRAM CONFERENCE

The Enneagram Conference, led by Dr. Joe Howell, returns for another enlightening experience revealing to the children of God this ancient process of raising consciousness. The three day conference will focus on explicating the wisdom of this spiritual system to those who want to develop their awareness of the graced complexity of human nature and relationships.  Two tracks will be offered, one for beginners and one for persons who are familiar with the Enneagram basics and are ready for more advanced information.

Dec. 27-Jan.1

Winterlight 39

If you’re in grades 9-12, take this chance to get away from the distractions of everyday life and spend time meeting new friends, hanging out with old ones, singing, dancing, ringing in the New Year and exploring your thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Adult chaperones will attend all plenary sessions and have their own workshops.

 
 
2015 CONFERENCE / RETREAT NAME
January 15-18

Knitting and Quilting Retreat

Learn new techniques from patient experts as you enjoy the perfect weekend escape for knitters and quilters. Experience the casual, friendly atmosphere in the Blue Ridge Mountains that only Kanuga can offer.

February 21-27

Iconography with Suzanne Schleck

Experience the compelling practice of painting an icon using techniques developed before the year 1000 A.D.  Using gold leaf and egg tempera on gessoed boards, instructor Suzanne Schleck guides you through a week of art and prayer. You may choose to paint an icon of St. Christopher or the Holy Face of Jesus.

February 22-24

Bowen Conference

Modern Voices Answering Ancient Calls
Inspiring actions, remarkable results, and visions for a new and revitalized Episcopal Church. Learn from keynoters Rev. Dan Matthews, former rector of Trinity Wall Street, and the Rt. Rev. Charles Duvall, retired Bishop of the Central Gulf Coast as they present five guest speakers, both clergy and lay, whose congregations are bucking the trend of declining membership and shrinking budgets.

February 27 - March 1

Church Leadership Conference

Charging Up, Charging Out: Energizing Church Leadership
Discover new tools for successful ministry and explore church in a different way by developing a team-based set of leadership strategies at this year’s Church Leadership Conference, presented by Kanuga and the Episcopal Church Foundation.

June 8-12

Christian Formation Conference

Hope in the Midst of Crisis: From Tragedy to Healing through Forgiveness
How do you make your parish a safe haven when disaster strikes? How do you prepare yourself for the psychological impacts on your parish? How do you lead your parish to forgive? How do you teach forgiveness in a society focused on retaliation? Listen as keynoter Lyndon Harris shares his inspiring story of being thrust into the center of tragedy on September 11, 2001 while serving as a priest at St. Paul’s Chapel in New York City, just beside the World Trade Center.

June 14-19

Youth Week

One of Kanuga’s oldest traditions, Youth Week brings together youth and adults from around the country for a week of fun, friendship and prayer. Through small group discussions, full conference gatherings, music, prayer and play, youth are encouraged to explore their thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Three different, simultaneous tracks offer youth and adults the chance to spend time with similar aged participants.

June 21-26

Renewal Conference

Rest
The never-ending bustle of a high-octane workplace. The three-places-at-once gymnastics of the after-school carpool. The siren’s call of the smartphone. Our lives have become inescapably full. The Church has proven that it, too, is not immune to the culture of over-commitment. Believers in search of rest are often met with a list of volunteer opportunities. So what does Christianity have to say to the “weary and heavy laden”? What might it mean to rest in God’s promises?

August 16-21

Liturgical Arts Conference

More information coming soon.

 

Click here to download the adult conference registration form.