Property Map

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Director hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
Kim Watson Vice President of Finance and Operations kim.watson@kanuga.org 214 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Monica Phillips MTOS Assistant Program Director monica.phillips@kanuga.org 277 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3

Conference Calendar

OPEN CALENDAR

 

2014 CONFERENCE NAME
June 9-13

CHRISTIAN FORMATION CONFERENCE: FACE TO FACE

The 86th Christian Formation Conference at Kanuga welcomes one of the most influential Biblical scholars of our time, Walter Brueggemann. Church educators find a friend in Brueggemann, an ordained minister in the United Church of Christ. His work inspires, energizes and convicts, and he always makes time to interact personally with those to whom he speaks.

June 13-15

KANUGA STAFF REUNION

Have you ever worked on the Kanuga staff? Whether you worked here for one summer, several seasons or many years, you're invited to the 2014 Kanuga Staff Reunion! The reunion will be a time to reconnect with friends, share memories and stories, and celebrate the rich staff community that has nourished the Kanuga Spirit over the past eight decades. Camp Kanuga, Kanuga Trailblazers, Mountain Trail Outdoor School, Camp Bob and conference center staff, seasonal and year-round, all are invited to attend.

June 15-20

YOUTH WEEK AT KANUGA

One of Kanuga’s oldest traditions, Youth Week brings together youth and adults from around the country for a week of fun, friendship and prayer. Through small group discussions, full conference gatherings, music, prayer and play, youth are encouraged to explore their thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Three different simultaneous tracks offer youth and adults the chance to spend time with similar aged participants.

June 22-27

RENEWAL CONFERENCE

In the midst of troubled times in the world and the church, many individuals are experiencing a regeneration of faith and power. The Renewal Conference is designed to be a place and time to refresh faith and find spiritual encouragement. It is an opportunity for anyone to take time to listen again for God’s “still, small voice” to speak and direct. Worship, music, small groups, plenary sessions, Bible study, and teachings are all important parts of this annual conference.

August 17-22

LITURGICAL ARTS CONFERENCE: FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in embroidery, photography, weaving, painting, choral singing, flower arranging and intermediate canvaswork. Discover or develop your personal creative abilities as you work, share and play in an encouraging Christian community.

August 25-28

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer practical tools and a network of support to better equip for ministry those working within the Latino/Hispanic community and those who want to be.

October 26-28

LANSING LEE CONFERENCE

The 2014 Lansing Lee Conference welcomes Dr. Eben Alexander, the neurosurgeon whose near-death experience has intrigued millions as he shared new understanding of life, heaven and the divine. This three-day conference will explore the ways God reaches across time and space to meet us, and how this connection shapes and transforms our lives. Celebrate the transcendent power of God's love with powerful story, great worship and creative experiences in the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

November 16-22

ICON WRITING with Teresa Harrison

Teresa Harrison and Sandra Hjelm will return again for the 12th annual Icon Writing Retreat. Icon writing is an ancient painting technique in which the process and the finished work inspire prayerful meditation. The joy of creating an icon in community is to experience and share the love of God.

December 4-7

ENNEAGRAM CONFERENCE

The Enneagram Conference, led by Dr. Joe Howell, returns for another enlightening experience revealing to the children of God this ancient process of raising consciousness. The three day conference will focus on explicating the wisdom of this spiritual system to those who want to develop their awareness of the graced complexity of human nature and relationships.  Two tracks will be offered, one for beginners and one for those who want to be licensed trainers and/or earn CEUs.

Dec. 27-Jan.1

Winterlight 39

If you’re in grades 9-12, take this chance to get away from the distractions of everyday life and spend time meeting new friends, hanging out with old ones, singing, dancing, ringing in the New Year and exploring your thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Adult chaperones will attend all plenary sessions and have their own workshops.

Click here to download the adult conference registration form.