Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Manager hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org  
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
27
28
29
30
31
1
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
2
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 5

Summer Guest Period: Week 5

When: July 26, 2014 - August 2, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
3
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
4
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
5
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
6
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
7
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
8
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
9
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 6

Summer Guest Period: Week 6

When: August 2, 2014 - August 9, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
10
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
11
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
12
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
13
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
14
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
15
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
16
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 7

Summer Guest Period: Week 7

When: August 9, 2014 - August 16, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
17
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
18
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
19
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
20
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
21
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
22
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression
FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

When: August 17, 2014 - August 22, 2014

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
Summer Guest Period: Week 8

Summer Guest Period: Week 8

When: August 16, 2014 - August 22, 2014

A getaway that renews the whole family.

Full Details Close it
23
24
25
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
26
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
27
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
28
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
29
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta
NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

When: August 25, 2014 - August 28, 2014

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer ...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6

Conference Calendar

OPEN CALENDAR

 

2014 CONFERENCE/RETREAT NAME
August 17-22

LITURGICAL ARTS CONFERENCE: FACE: Faith, Art and Creative Expression

The 17th Liturgical Arts Conference will embody the work of the church and the individual expressions of our faith through our hands, eyes and voices. Participants may choose from classes in embroidery, photography, weaving, painting, choral singing, flower arranging and intermediate canvaswork. Discover or develop your personal creative abilities as you work, share and play in an encouraging Christian community.

August 25-28

NUEVO AMANECER: Community. Mission. Fiesta

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer practical tools and a network of support to better equip for ministry those working within the Latino/Hispanic community and those who want to be.

October 26-28

LANSING LEE CONFERENCE

The 2014 Lansing Lee Conference welcomes Dr. Eben Alexander, the neurosurgeon whose near-death experience has intrigued millions as he shared new understanding of life, heaven and the divine. This three-day conference will explore the ways God reaches across time and space to meet us, and how this connection shapes and transforms our lives. Celebrate the transcendent power of God's love with powerful story, great worship and creative experiences in the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

November 16-22

ICON WRITING with Teresa Harrison

Teresa Harrison and Sandra Hjelm will return again for the 12th annual Icon Writing Retreat. Icon writing is an ancient painting technique in which the process and the finished work inspire prayerful meditation. The joy of creating an icon in community is to experience and share the love of God.

December 4-7

ENNEAGRAM CONFERENCE

The Enneagram Conference, led by Dr. Joe Howell, returns for another enlightening experience revealing to the children of God this ancient process of raising consciousness. The three day conference will focus on explicating the wisdom of this spiritual system to those who want to develop their awareness of the graced complexity of human nature and relationships.  Two tracks will be offered, one for beginners and one for those who want to be licensed trainers and/or earn CEUs.

Dec. 27-Jan.1

Winterlight 39

If you’re in grades 9-12, take this chance to get away from the distractions of everyday life and spend time meeting new friends, hanging out with old ones, singing, dancing, ringing in the New Year and exploring your thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Adult chaperones will attend all plenary sessions and have their own workshops.

 
 
2015 CONFERENCE / RETREAT NAME
January 15-18

Knitting and Quilting Retreat

More information coming soon.

February 21-27

Iconography with Suzanne Schleck

More information coming soon.

February 22-24

Bowen Conference

More information coming soon.

February 27 - March 1

Church Leadership Conference

More information coming soon.

June 8-12

Christian Formation Conference

More information coming soon.

June 21-26

Renewal Conference

More information coming soon.

August 16-21

Liturgical Arts Conference

More information coming soon.

 

Click here to download the adult conference registration form.