Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Anita Whitmire Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Reservations Manager eric.george@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jennifer Sharpe Retail Manager jennifer.sharpe@kanuga.org 2802 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Resident Apprentice Program Coordinator kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
Laura Moushey Human Resources Director laura.moushey@kanuga.org 2807 
+
Leslie Hartley Director of Marketing and Communications leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Vice President of Finance marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Mark C. Upright J.D., M.B.A. Chief Operating Officer mark.upright@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Meghan Hull Director of Mountain Trail Outdoor School meghan.hull@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Ricky Varnadore Vice President of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Sara Christensen Visual Communications Specialist sara.christensen@kanuga.org 2825 
+
Stacie Loeffler Advancement Associate stacie.loeffler@kanuga.org 2734 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 
+
Stephanie Watts Manager of Event and Guest Services stephanie.watts@kanuga.org 2830 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

When: August 29, 2016 - September 1, 2016

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
30
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

When: August 29, 2016 - September 1, 2016

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
31
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow
NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

NUEVO AMANECER: Unidos Crecemos / Together We Grow

When: August 29, 2016 - September 1, 2016

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will...

Register Now | Full Details Close it
1
2
3

Conference Calendar

OPEN CALENDAR

For more than 85 years, Kanuga has sponsored and operated conferences and retreats to provide enlightening, restful and transforming experiences. Our goal is to offer you a peaceful place to focus on your relationship with the Holy and be inspired to return to your home with a renewed sense of purpose to reveal God’s grace to the world. With over 10 Kanuga-sponsored events offered each year, our hope is you’ll find one that resonates with you.

See upcoming Kanuga-sponsored conferences and retreats below.

Don’t see your event? This list only shows Kanuga operated events, and does not include groups that are hosting their own event at Kanuga. Check with your group coordinator or organization’s website to find information and registration links.
 

2016 Conferences and Retreats

 

Dates

CONFERENCE / RETREAT NAME

August 21-26

Faith, Art and Creative Expression

Explore the Divine through artistic expressions led by talented, encouraging instructors in a nurturing Christian community. Classes are led by some of the finest artisans in their fields. Kits and supplies are provided by instructors at an additional cost. Participants must register for a specific morning class track, leaving afternoons open to explore other classes and projects.

Take advantage of free time by working on your own projects, napping, hiking or simply relaxing in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains.

August 29-September 1

Nuevo Amanecer

Co-sponsored with the Episcopal Church's Office of Latino/Hispanic Ministries and the Latino Ministries Office of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), this biennial event will offer practical tools and a network of support to better equip for ministry those working within the Latino/Hispanic community and those who want to be.

Simultaneous interpretation available throughout the conference.

October 16-18

Lansing Lee Conference

Theme: Faith, Politics and the Golden Rule

On September 24, 2015, led by Pope Francis, the United States Congress applauded the Golden Rule. The next day, things were back to normal. The 2016 Lansing Lee Conference will consider the question of whether civility and respect as spiritual values are essential to democracy. Led by New York Times writer, Mark Oppenheimer and a panel of thinkers and writers, participants will explore the idea of transformational leadership. As we look toward the elections of 2016, how can the country go from a place of partisanship to engagement?

October 27-30

Enneagram Conference

Join Dr. Joseph Howell, author of Becoming Conscious: The Enneagram’s Forgotten Passageway, and the faculty of the Institute for Conscious Being for an in-depth exploration into the Spirituality of the Enneagram. Learn how the Enneagram’s ancient wisdom can bring Jesus’ teachings to life as we remember and embrace our true selves in the perfection of Divine creation.

November 13-19

Icon Writing with Teresa Harrison

Join renowned instructor Teresa Harrison for a course in the ancient technique of icon writing. This process inspires prayerful meditation, both while creating the art and reflecting on the finished piece. Participants will focus on their art while listening to Gregorian chant and harp music, praying with icons, enjoying silent time, taking part in lively group discussions and attending daily Eucharist. Beginners and experienced iconographers will find this course rewarding.

December 27-January 1, 2017

Winterlight 41

If you’re in grades 9-12, take this chance to get away from the distractions of everyday life and spend time meeting new friends, hanging out with old ones, singing, dancing, ringing in the New Year and exploring your thoughts and beliefs in a welcoming Christian community. Adult chaperones will attend all plenary sessions and have their own workshops.

 

2017 Conferences and Retreats

 

Dates

CONFERENCE / RETREAT NAME

February 11-17

Iconography: The Gospel in Line and Color

Experience the compelling practice of painting an icon using techniques developed before the year 1000 A.D. Create one-of-a-kind artwork with gold leaf and egg tempera on gessoed boards.

Instructor: Suzanne Schleck