Property Map

You need to upgrade your Flash Player

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-0077 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 239 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 233 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 235 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 276 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 267 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 281 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 270 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 279 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 283 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 288 
+
Gary Giniat Director of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 240 
+
Hunter Soper Expedition Programs Director hunter.soper@kanuga.org 263 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 224 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 285 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 227 
+
Jodi Calabrese Retail Operations Manager jodi.calabrese@kanuga.org 241 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 282 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 264 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 280 
+
Kim Watson Vice President of Finance and Operations kim.watson@kanuga.org 214 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 321 
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 217 
+
Monica Phillips MTOS Assistant Program Director monica.phillips@kanuga.org 277 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 284 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 315 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 221 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 222 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 212 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3

Mountain Trail Outdoor School

     

Kanuga's Mountain Trail Outdoor School teaches experiential education in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina.

Public and private schools come for residential field trips, typically staying two to five days. We tailor our program to fit the goals of individual groups, ranging from a science curriculum that meets standard course of study requirements to team-building exercises and adventure-based programming.

MTOS instructors are highly educated and well-trained individuals with experience working with youth outdoors. Many instructors have classroom teaching experience. Our AMGA-trained adventure manager trains all instructors to safely facilitate our adventure courses.

Click here to view our brochure online!

Mission

The Mountain Trail Outdoor School offers programs that help youth and adults to:

  • experience positive community
  • grow physically and mentally
  • improve self-confidence
  • increase awareness and stewardship of our natural environment.

MTOS began in 1991 as an environmental education curriculum for two local school groups. The positive impact of the program inspired Kanuga to launch the school with assistance from the National Wildlife Federation Camp. Under the direction of Bob Lamond, MTOS welcomed 11 groups in its first full year, serving a total of 348 students. Today, 100 schools bring 5,000 students to Mountain Trail each year.