Property Map

To view our interactive Property Map, you need to upgrade your Flash Player
You may also view/download a pdf version of the Property Map | PDF (1 MB) - To save, right click link and select save link as.

Directory

To contact a staff member by phone, please call 828-692-9136 and then enter the extension number.

  Name Title Email Address Ext
+
Andrew Schmidt Advancement Analyst andrew.schmidt@kanuga.org 2824 
+
Anita Whitmire Boan Housekeeping Manager anita.whitmire@kanuga.org 2831 
+
Barbara Panetta Reservations Associate barbara.panetta@kanuga.org 2814 
+
Barry Phillips Director of Food Service barry.phillips@kanuga.org 2833 
+
Bethany Frazier Youth Events Program Director bethany.frazier@kanuga.org 2812 
+
Chris Lynn Adult Conferences Program Director chris.lynn@kanuga.org 2818 
+
Christine Murawski Mountain Trail Outdoor School Program Director christine.murawski@kanuga.org 2839 
+
Clint DeWitt Environmental Projects Manager clint.dewitt@kanuga.org 2823 
+
Connie Holliday Director of Group Sales connie.holliday@kanuga.org 2808 
+
David Schnitzer Camp Kanuga Director david.schnitzer@kanuga.org 2840 
+
Eden Lewis Guest Period Program Director eden.lewis@kanuga.org 2817 
+
Eric George Assistant Director of Guest Services eric.george@kanuga.org 2827 
+
Gary Giniat Vice President of Advancement gary.giniat@kanuga.org 2816 
+
Jason Merritt Director of Marketing and Communications jason.merritt@kanuga.org 2826 
+
Jill Mallin Director of Guest Services jill.mallin@kanuga.org 2828 
+
Jimmy Haden Vice President of Hospitality and Sales jimmy.haden@kanuga.org 2810 
+
Kaitlin Pope Mountain Trail Outdoor School Assistant Director kaitlin.pope@kanuga.org 2838 
+
Kate Bakko Reservations Associate kate.bakko@kanuga.org 2811 
+
Katherine Parnell Camp Bob Program Director katherine.parnell@kanuga.org 2836 
+
Kevin Manion Expedition Programs Manager kevin.manion@kanuga.org 2813 
+
Kim Moree Manager of Board Relations kim.moree@kanuga.org 2806 
+
LeeAnne Martin Vice President of Youth Programs leeanne.martin@kanuga.org 2837 
+
Leslie Hartley Communications Writer leslie.hartley@kanuga.org 2822 
+
Marcella Thompson Controller marcella.thompson@kanuga.org 2803 
+
Matt Henry Chief Operating Officer matt.henry@kanuga.org 2804 
+
Nicole Bentley Reservations Director nicole.bentley@kanuga.org 2809 
+
Paul Bockoven Director of Information Technology paul.bockoven@kanuga.org 2819 
+
Ricky Varnadore Director of Property ricky.varnadore@kanuga.org 2834 
+
Sandy McKinney Reservations Associate sandy.mckinney@kanuga.org 2815 
+
Stan Hubbard President stan.hubbard@kanuga.org 2805 

Kanuga Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Our History

Charlotte banker, real estate developer and newspaper publisher George Stephens wanted a place in the Blue Ridge Mountains where families could escape the hot summers of Charlotte, Columbia and the Low Country.

He commissioned nationally known landscape designer John Nolen to plan such a place and he chose the noted Asheville architect Richard Sharp Smith to design the major buildings. He bought 950 acres and placed a substantial dam across Mud Creek creating a 100-acre lake.

Overlooking this lake he built a large inn with dining rooms. A lakeside pavilion for the social activities and water sports and 39 cottages — ranging in size from two to six bedrooms — completed one of the South’s greatest summer resorts.

The great flood of 1916 broke the Kanuga Lake dam and though it was rebuilt as the 30-acre lake we know today, summer resorts of this kind proved to be passing enterprises. At Kanuga four bankruptcies followed four reorganizations.

“This magnificent property will then belong to the Church,” said Bishop Kirkman George Finlay when the dioceses of the two Carolinas purchased the Kanuga Lake Club in 1928. Under Finlay’s leadership, Kanuga became the Episcopal Church’s largest conference center within 10 years.

In 1931, a boys’ camp was built about a quarter-mile from the hotel. This facility, now the Bob Campbell Youth Campus, became the Kanuga Camp for Girls when a new summer camp for boys was opened on the east side of the property. In the early 1970s, the two camps combined, using the eastern facility.

In June 1962, Kanuga opened a new summer camp on the east side of the property and in June 1968, the Kanuga Lake Inn we know today was opened and Kanuga became a year-round conference center.

The Bob Campbell Youth Campus was completed in the summer of 1999. Insulated and heated for year-round use, it is the home of Camp Bob in the summer and accommodates Kanuga’s Mountain Trail Outdoor School, which serves mostly school groups, in winter, spring and fall.